T Minus 26 Days Until Race Day!!!!

22 09 2010

After all the long hours of training every Saturday, all the mileage that’s accumulated over the weeks, race day is quickly upon us! There is less than a month left until we board the Hawaiian Air flight to San Francisco to join forces with 20,000 strong race participants. Twenty six days left until I can cross out “Run a Marathon” from my Bucket List.

After having experienced the task of juggling work, school, and training, I can begin to say that there is a toll that takes place on the physical being, the ability to remain strong and constant in your resolve to keep up with the required training schedule. As easy as it is to begin a venture, it’s just as easy to become complacent. After having missed five days of training, and experiencing the subsequent fatigue and grogginess from not training, I was able to make up 6 miles on Monday. I struggled during the first 2.5 miles, but somehow was able to find the energy to finish strong and shave off 15 minutes from my finish time. In the end, I was able to complete 6 miles in 1 hr 15 minutes, shy of my normal 1 hr 30 minutes. My knees were a bit sore afterwards, with my right knee still sore throughout the day today. I’m hoping that it’s something that a little bit of ice and ibuprofen can fix. I met with our physical therapist Jaco two weeks ago, and he said that I need to start incorporating some strength training exercise routines into my training sessions so that I can strengthen my legs to help absorb the work that goes into my running routine. Makes sense, truly. Today was rest day and class night with my fellow PUBA cohort members. Unfortunately, I ate something throughout the day that had an unfavorable reaction to my medication, thus kicking up my digestive side effects. I missed out on lecture for about 15 painful minutes, but thanks to my very understanding professors, my dipping out of class to deal with my digestive side effects will not be an issue. I’ll be picking up another 6 miles (*hopefully*) tomorrow afternoon. I’m just hoping that the same energy bolt hits me tomorrow, and I’ll be able to finish again at 1 hr 15 mins. We shall see!

What's On Your Bucket List?

On another bright note, I’ve reached 100% of my goal to raise $4,000 for blood cancer research and the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society!! *Cheers* The outpouring of love, support, and resources to aid me in my cause has truly touched my very soul, and I am just blessed and overwhelmed with gratitude. It’s just very overwhelming and humbling to receive support from family, friends, and strangers alike, and that they, too, are hopeful for a cure someday and that they empathize with my cause. Another amazing aspect of this whole experience has been the connections and friendships made as a result of this project. Cancer, as awful as it can be, has become an increasingly common thread in the lives of people, by way of knowing someone who has been touched by cancer or experiencing it themselves. There is a solidarity in cancer that strengthens the resolve of society to continue to hope for a cure, and for society to strive for that goal through their support of organizations like The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. THANK YOU SO MUCH to everyone for sending in their pledges to support blood cancer research through my first half marathon! YOU are the inspiration for cancer patients like myself to keep going and to keep hoping for a cure, knowing that we have the support of many to see us through. However, I just received confirmation from our local chapter that we can continue to raise funds beyond the goal that we’ve set, so if you’ve been meaning to send in your support, you can still do so by accessing the link through my “Donate To Our Cause” Link under the Make a Difference section to the right of this page! God bless you all for your love and support!

Thanks & Love


Actions

Information

Leave a comment